

THE BAY CENTER 100 Save The Bay Drive Providence, RI 02905 phone: 401-272-3540 fax: 401-273-7153 savebay@savebay.org

www.savebay.org

EXPLORATION CENTER
Easton's Beach
P.O. Box 851
Newport, RI 02840
phone: 401-324-6020
fax: 401-324-6022

SOUTH COAST CENTER Riverside Building 8 Broad Street Westerly, RI 02891 phone/fax:401.315.02891

Delivered Via Electronic Mail

May 4, 2023

Coastal Resources Management Council Attn: Raymond Coia, Chairman Stedman Government Center, Suite 3 4808 Tower Hill Road Wakefield, RI 02879-1900

Dear Chairperson Coia,

It has come to our attention that a member of the Coastal Resources Management Council (CRMC) is no longer eligible to serve on the Council. Lindsay McGovern, was appointed in May of 2021 and serves in the role of an elected or appointed official from a coastal municipality of less than 25,000 residents (the Town of Narragansett). It is our understanding that at the time of her appointment, she was on the Narragansett Historical Cemetery Commission and her term on that Commission expired on November 1, 2022.

In response to an email from Save The Bay on May 3, 2023, Narragansett Town Clerk, Janet Tarro, stated that:

"Lindsay McGovern declined reappointment, so she is no longer serving on the Historical Cemetery Commission. She is currently not serving in an elected or appointed position in the Town of Narragansett."

In accordance with Rhode Island General Laws § 46-23-2(a)(1) "[e] ach municipal appointment shall cease if the appointed or elected official shall no longer hold or change the office which they held upon appointment." The importance of the elected or appointed role is emphasized in § 46-23-2.1 (a) and (c): members shall serve "only so long as the members shall remain eligible to serve on the council under the appointment authority" and "[e]lected or appointed municipal officials shall hold seats on the council, only so long as they remain in their elected or appointed office."

We bring this issue to your attention given the important matters that are currently pending before the Council.

Sincerely,

Topher Hamblett Director of Advocacy

Topler Hambles

Cc: The Hon. Daniel J. McKee, Governor

The Hon. Dominick J. Ruggerio, Senate President The Hon. K. Joseph Shekarchi, Speaker of the House The Hon. Ryan W. Pearson, Senate Majority Leader

The Hon. Christopher R. Blazejewski, House Majority Leader

Mr. Jeffrey Willis, Executive Director, CRMC